监护人家庭

监护护理
监护人家庭为海外学生提供家庭环境。

他们都是有全职工作或退休的志愿者,他们正寻求履行一项为国外儿童提供支助的机会的角色。

关爱家庭

这些家庭了解,在一个你不能用母语交流的国家,离家很长一直有怎样的感觉。他们是富有同情心和关怀,同时保持尊重其他文化。它们为学生提供一个安全的环境,让学生在假期期间留下来,在需要时提供学术支持,并在学生需要表达任何疑虑时随时倾听。

24 小时支持

监护人需要提出有关学生福利的问题,可以从监护人家庭网络获得24小时支持。大多数家庭在监护终止后很久就与学生及其家人保持联系,学生已返回自己的国家继续其职业生涯或开始其职业生涯。
访问和检查
所有家庭都经过审查,学生的福祉至关重要

访问由工作人员进行,并完成广泛的检查,以确保未来的监护人适合这个角色。

监护人和学生密切配合,以确保达到一个良好的配合,并确保双方满意设置。

在监护得到确认之前进行审判,以确保学生和监护人家庭都对这项安排感到满意。

监护人家庭的作用是什么?
  • 在您的护理家庭内为孩子提供一间卧室,在周末和半天。学校通常每学期有一个休学的周末,所以在每个学期,这通常相当于两个周末和一个星期的半学期。有时,在学期开始时或学期结束时需要过夜,因为飞行时间与学期日期不相符。
  • 作为与家庭家长和导师的关键联系人,确保孩子在学校取得良好进展,讨论和解决任何问题,并确认周末和半条款临近时的安排。
  • 如果出现意外、疾病、停课或要求学校暂时关闭的事件,请迅速到场。
  • 参加学校家长晚会,向家长或卫报家庭网络工作人员团队汇报进展情况。
  • 参加学校音乐会和体育比赛,在适当的时候为孩子提供支持。(你这样做多少由监护人自行决定,这取决于孩子的个人才能和课外参与。
  • 向或卫报家庭网络工作人员团队或孩子的父母沟通成功和关注。
沟通很重要

沟通和组织良好是作为监护人家庭的重要要素。在监护人家庭网络经验丰富的工作人员团队将随时为您提供支持和指导,如果您有任何担心或疑虑,而孩子在你的照顾。如果孩子在安顿下来时出现任何牙齿问题,我们也可以为您提供帮助;如果事情不如您预期的那样,我们还可以为您提供帮助。

如果家长不会说英语,您还将定期与寄宿学校、监护人家庭网络工作人员团队和孩子的父母或其代表进行沟通。

能够迅速响应电话和电子邮件至关重要,访问 Skype 是孩子与家庭保持联系的有用方法。

监护证明
我的支持程度给我留下了深刻的印象。这是我第一次,我有很多问题!我发现工作人员是有帮助的,我喜欢实际的电话交谈,而不是一维电子邮件,因为他们更个人提供提示和指导,我觉得卫报家庭网络'家庭的一部分。
监护人 沃金面积

您是否喜欢花时间与孩子在一起,并在家中有空间为英国寄宿学校的国际学生提供照顾和支持?

试想一下,如果你的孩子在离家数英里远的寄宿学校上学,你会从当地家庭支持他们,并定期通知你如何相处的保证?

友好、支持和可靠的英国家庭,在英国寄宿学校照顾国际儿童。

这是一个绝佳的机会

  • 为自己的孩子结交新朋友,了解其他国家和文化理解。

  • 填补"空巢"时,你的孩子可能已经去上大学或离开家。

  • 参与年轻人的学校生活,通过参加学校比赛、音乐会、家长晚会来支持他们。

  • 与海外国际家庭建立持久的友谊。

  • 把你的备用卧室好好利用。

幸福的家庭

01

第一步

完成并返回申请表,您可以通过扫描表单并将其通过电子邮件发送给该表单来返回该表单 office@guardianfamily.co.uk 或者您也可以在以下地址将填写完的表格邮寄给Siobhan Skaife。

汉普登之家, 纪念碑公园, 沃普斯格罗夫巷, 查格罗夫, 奥克森 OX44 7RW

表格上的详细信息有助于我们与您匹配一个潜在的孩子,并告诉他们的家人在海外有关你。此表格还要求两名裁判的联系方式,他们非常了解您,足以保证您有能力照顾孩子。我们还将要求所有居住在家中且超过 18 岁的家庭成员填写 CRB 表格,以便我们进行增强的背景调查。

02

第二步

我们将通过电话与您联系,更详细地讨论角色,回答您可能遇到的任何问题,并告诉您有关我们目前为其寻找监护人家庭的儿童的更多信息。

03

第三步

如果我们有一个孩子,你渴望满足,我们将安排我们的一个工作人员团队来,以满足你在你的家。在访问期间,我们将要求看看孩子将住的卧室,并参观你的家。我们还将花一些时间与你了解你更好一点,将能够讨论孩子,我们正在寻找一个监护人更详细地一点。参观结束后,我们会询问您是否乐意继续下一步。

04

第四步

我们将一份有关您和您的家人的报告发送给孩子的家人,询问他们是否乐意继续下一步。

05

第五步

如果您和孩子的父母乐意继续,我们将安排孩子来试用。这可能是一个可原谅的周末或半学期。这是你的机会,以满足孩子,看看你是否觉得他们会在你的家庭定居。这也是孩子认识你的机会,看看他们是否乐意长期和你在一起。现阶段没有长期承诺或义务。

06

第六步

在试用访问之后,我们寻求各方的反馈,如果每个人都乐意继续,我们会确认您为孩子的监护人。我们将通知学校,并向您发送浮动,以支付下学期的预期费用,并要求您确认您可用于即将到来的假期、半学期假期和机场运行。

想要申请表吗?

Guardian families

Guardianship care
Guardian Families provide a home from home environment for students from overseas.

They are all volunteers who have full time careers or are retired and are seeking fulfilment from a role which offers the opportunity to provide support to a child from abroad.

Caring families

These families have an understanding of how it must feel to be a long way from home, in a country where you cannot communicate in your native language. They are compassionate and caring whilst remaining respectful of other cultures. They provide a safe environment for the student to stay during holidays, offering academic support where required and are always there to listen should the student need to voice any concerns.

24h support

Guardians are given 24 hour support from The Guardian Family Network should they need to raise an issue regarding the welfare of the student. Most families remain in contact with the student and their families long after guardianship has terminated and the student has returned to their own country to continue their career or commence their career back home.
VISITATION AND CHECKS
All families are vetted as wellbeing of the student is paramount

Visits are carried out by members of staff and extensive checks are completed to ensure that prospective guardians are suitable for the role.

Guardians and students are closely matched to ensure that a good fit is achieved and that both parties are happy with the set up.

A trial is carried out prior to guardianship being confirmed to ensure that both the student and guardian family are happy with the arrangement.

What does the role of guardian family entail?
  • Provide a bedroom within your caring home for the child at exeat weekends and half terms. Schools usually have one exeat weekend each side of half term, so during each term, this usually amounts to two weekends and a week during half term. Sometimes an overnight stay is required at the start or end of term, where flight times do not fit with school term dates.
  • Acting as the key contact with the Houseparents and tutor, to make sure the child is making good progress at school, discuss and resolve any issues and to confirm arrangements when exeat weekends and half terms are approaching.
  • Being there quickly if an emergency situation arises such as accident, illness, suspension or an incident which requires the school to close temporarily.
  • Attending school parents’ evenings and reporting back to the parents or The Guardian Family Network staff team on progress.
  • Attending school concerts and sports matches to offer support to the child as and when appropriate. (How much you do this is left to the guardian’s discretion and it depends on the individual talents and extra-curricular involvement of the child.)
  • Communicating successes and concerns to or The Guardian Family Network staff team or the child’s parents back home.
Communication is important

Communication and being well-organised is a vital element of acting as a guardian family. The experienced staff team at the Guardian Family Network will be on hand to offer you support and guidance should you have any worries or concerns while the child is in your care. We can also assist you if there are any teething problems while the child is settling in, or further down the line if things are not as you expected.

You will also be in regular communication with the Houseparents and tutor at the boarding school, The Guardian Family Network staff team and the child’s parents or their representative, if the parents do not speak English.

An ability to respond promptly to telephone calls and email is vital and having access to Skype is a useful way for the child to keep in touch with home.

Guardianship testimonial
I am impressed with the level of support. This is my first time and I have lots of questions! I found the staff to be helpful and I liked the actual telephone conversations as opposed the-one-dimensional-emails, as they were more personal offering me tips and guidance and I felt part of the Guardian Family Network ‘family.
Guardian Woking area

Do you love spending time with children and have room in your home to offer care and support to an international student at a UK boarding school?

Imagine if your child were attending a boarding school many miles from home and the reassurance you would gain from having a local family to support them and keep you regularly informed on how they are getting on?

Friendly, supportive and reliable British families who care for international children at uk boarding schools.

This is an excellent opportunity

  • For your own children to make new friends and to learn about other countries and cultural understanding.

  • To fill the ‘empty nest’ when your own children have perhaps gone off to university or left home.

  • To become involved in the school life of a young person, supporting them through attendance at school matches, concerts, parents’ evenings.

  • To build lasting friendships with international families overseas.

  • To put your spare bedroom to good use.

happy family

01

Step one

Complete and return the application form, you can either return the form by scanning it and emailing it to office@guardianfamily.co.uk OR you can also post your completed form to Siobhan Skaife at the following address.

Hampden House, Monument Park, Warpsgrove Lane, Chalgrove, Oxon OX44 7RW

The details on your form help us to match you up with a potential child and to tell their family overseas about you. This form also requests contact details of two referees who know you well enough to vouch for your ability to care for children. We will also ask all family members who live at home and are over 18 to complete a CRB form, so we can carry out an enhanced background check.

02

Step two

We will contact you by phone to discuss the role in more detail, answer any questions you may have and to tell you a little more information about the children for whom we are currently seeking guardian families.

03

Step three

If we have a child who you are keen to meet, we will arrange for one of our staff team to come and meet you in your home. During the visit we will ask to see the bedroom where the child will be staying and for a tour of your home. We will also spend some time with you getting to know you a bit better and will be able to discuss the child for whom we are seeking a guardian in a bit more detail. Following the visit, we will ask you if you are happy to proceed to the next step.

04

Step four

We send a report about you and your family to the child’s family back home, asking if they are happy to proceed to the next step.

05

Step five

If you and the child’s parents are happy to proceed, we will arrange for the child to come and have a trial stay with you. This might be for an exeat weekend or for a half term. This is your opportunity to meet the child and see if you feel they will settle in your family. It is also the chance for the child to meet you and see if they feel happy to stay with you long-term.There is no long-term commitment or obligation at this stage.

06

Step six

Following the trial visit, we seek feedback from all parties and if everyone is happy to proceed, we then confirm you as the child’s guardian. We will inform the school and send you a float to cover anticipated expenses for the forthcoming term, as well as asking you to confirm your availability for forthcoming exeats, half term holidays and airport runs.

Want an application form?